Press Release

Dublin Bay South Bye-Election

Following the moving of the writ in Dáil Éireann, Mr. Darragh O’Brien, T.D., Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage has made an order today (16 June 2021) appointing Thursday, 8 July 2021 as the polling day for the Dublin Bay South bye-election. Polling will take place between the hours of 7.00 a.m. and 10.30 p.m.

To stand for election to Dáil Éireann, a person must be a citizen of Ireland and at least 21 years of age by polling day. A person may nominate himself or herself as a candidate or, with his or her consent, may be nominated by a person who is registered as an elector in the constituency concerned. A candidate not in possession of a certificate of political affiliation (confirmation that a person is a candidate of a political party registered in the register of political parties) must have their nomination completed using either of the following options: (i) by way of assents, requiring the completion of statutory declarations by 30 assentors registered in the relevant Dáil constituency, or (ii) by way of the candidate, or someone on his or her behalf, lodging a deposit of €500 with the returning officer. The latest time for receiving nominations is 12 noon on Thursday 24 June 2021. Candidates may withdraw their nominations up to 12 noon on Friday 25 June 2021.

Every Irish and British citizen included in the register of electors in the Dublin Bay South constituency may vote at the bye-election. The electorate is 72,302.

For inclusion in the supplement to the register, a person can apply online at or complete the relevant application form (RFA2), which can be downloaded from or can be obtained from Dublin City Council. Application forms will need to be received by Dublin City Council not later than Monday, 21 June 2021. For those seeking inclusion in the supplement to the postal and special voters lists, the relevant application forms (PVS1 or SVS1) can also be downloaded from These application forms will need to be received by Dublin City Council not later than Friday, 18 June 2021.

Minister O’Brien welcomes the arrangements being put in place by the returning officer to ensure that the bye-election will be held in accordance with Covid-19 public health advice. The key measures that will be in place are: sanitisers will be available at all polling stations; voters will be asked to wear a mask and observe social distancing when they are in the polling station; the polling station will be sanitised at
regular intervals; and a perspex screen will be set up at each presiding officer’s desk. Voters will also be asked to bring their own pen or pencil to mark the ballot paper, but pencils will also be available at the polling station if required by a voter. In addition, Minister O’Brien is extending polling hours to the maximum available to further assist Covid-19 arrangements in polling stations. Polling stations will therefore be open from 7a.m. to 10.30p.m on polling day.

Click here for a copy of the Polling Day Order